Characteristics of an Entrepreneur: A DMS Blog

An entrepreneur is a special breed of person. They’re willing to take risks with no certainty or reward. In fact, 44% of all start-ups fail by the end of their third year

There are certain qualities that keep an entrepreneur going that give them the strength to spit in the face of rejection and failure. These are the top 10:

  1. Imagination
  2. Passion
  3. Confidence
  4. Motivation
  5. Courage
  6. Focus
  7. Curiosity
  8. Budgeting
  9. Originality
  10. Hope

While reading the article 25 Common Characteristics of Successful Entrepreneurs from Entrepreneur.com, I ran into a few strengths and weaknesses I have.

First, my whole life I’ve been very imaginative and unique. I never went with the flow growing up, and that forced me to create my own sense of normalcy. I always did what I enjoyed, not just what everyone told me to do, and it made me invest in myself through education and self-esteem.

My career so far has been exclusively in customer service, so I know all about customer relations, problem management, and how to please a customer by giving them what they want. I know how to identify potential problems before they happen. I have been trained through my PR classes to present something in the best way possible.

My weaknesses come from my lack of organizational skills and patience. I can sell water to a lake, but if that lake takes too long to respond I’ll go crazy and I might lose its order in my pile of papers. I’m also not terribly good at budgeting, BUT I just got a kick-butt budgeting software, so that should help.

In order to be a successful entrepreneur, I must first get my weaknesses in check. My strengths are already there, but are being held back by my weaknesses. Of course, I’ll never be perfect, but I can better live up to my potential.

Leave a Reply

