Second Day of Work

Well folks, I just had my second day of work at my first real job.

This is no regular hourly work. There are no time clocks here, no one to monitor your activities, hovering, giving you meager tasks a monkey could complete.

No, this is serious time.

I now work for The Hatch Agency, a tech and tech startup centered PR agency located in the heart of downtown San Francisco.

Hatch is all about facilitating communication and building relationships. They have 15 clients, some brand new, and others you may have heard of before, including Dropbox, the cloud storage giant, and Beats by Dr. Dre. Hatch is an extremely professional, knowledgeable, and all-around all-star group of people.

I am their newest intern. As an intern, I do some (surprisingly) important stuff. I monitor breaking news, trends, client mentions in the media, and what’s happening in the industry. If something happens in the media, I’m the first to hear about it.

I’m also the greatest secretary ever. I keep exhaustive, detailed lists of all kinds of information that’s relevant to the work we’re doing. On top of that, I’m responsible for some general housekeeping and hospitality.

This internship will be a great opportunity to learn so much about the PR, tech, and startup industries. Right now I’m a little overwhelmed, but it’ll all make sense soon. It’s only my second day, after all.

I’m hoping this is the start of a great future.

Leave a Reply

